The Musicorium

Sharing some music.

Basia Bulat – Oh, My Darling

Posted by David on September 29, 2009

Oh, My DarlingFor whatever reason, I sometimes have trouble making myself pay much attention to what I can’t help but vaguely call the ‘singer-songwriter’ genre of music. Since I usually don’t care that much about lyrics — which, I think, are often meant to be at centre stage in this genre — the relatively simple or understated instrumentation behind them isn’t compelling enough to get me interested in the song.

Basia Bulat’s Oh, My Darling, while singer-songwriterly, is a definite exception to this rule. Several of its tunes have each possessed my head for a solid day at one time or another. The key instruments vary from song to song, from guitars to string sections to autoharp, from clapping to a drum set to hand drums. A number of the songs are paced in interesting ways instead of following standard verse-chorus-verse-chorus format; there are bouncing, fast-tempo buildups and slow, sad waltzes. And her voice is lovely: it’s rich, melodious and quavers in a wistful way that perfectly matches the lyrics (which, sucked in by the music, I now notice and adore). Here are a couple of songs from the album, and her website also has up for download a song from her not-yet-released next album, which I’m quite liking the sound of too.

2 Responses to “Basia Bulat – Oh, My Darling”

  1. Zac said

    Hey David. Basia Bulat recently did a show for the cbc radio 3 podcast where she made a playlist of music she likes and talked about why she liked it. I don’t know if you heard it or not, but you might find it interesting. It was sort of a podcast version of what you do here.

    • David said

      Huh, cool! I used to listen to those podcasts and they could be pretty good.

      If I posted that here, it would be, like… meta-sharing. Anyway, thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
