The Musicorium

Sharing some music.

Shugo Tokumaru: Exit

Posted by SP on September 25, 2009

ExitHaving had more than my fair share of exposure to J-pop I can honestly say that it’s something I generally regard as not for me. But Shugo Tokumaru isn’t really the usual cookie-cutter J-pop. Basically, the kid is unbelievable. Not only is he an incredibly original guitar player, he’s an incredibly original writer and arranger too. I hit on the video for the single Rum Hee by accident (below) and quickly got hooked to it and the other videos available from Exit on YouTube. So I went ahead and bought Exit online. What a joy to listen to! There’s weird time signatures and chord changes, instrumentation choices that seem questionable at first but grow on you like crazy after a couple of listens (the vibes haven’t sounded this good in rock songs since Zappa), and all in all just great, interesting, even challenging–but at the same time sweet and unpretentious–pop songs. If you can speak Japanese the lyrics are a plus, but if you can’t, they’re not going to get in the way for you. This is the best surprise I’ve had in a relatively new artist in a long time. Can’t recommend it highly enough.

2 Responses to “Shugo Tokumaru: Exit”

  1. Zac said

    Wow! You made a good call on this one. Sarah and I listened to your link and then his my space and then I downloaded the whole album, all within 20 min. You should charge commission or something.

Leave a Reply

 
